new to the forum and help/advice wanted

Open Discussion - for our Readers, Islanders, and Web Site Visitors alike. Discussion regarding any and all aspects of Beaver Island are welcome here. Also a place for general Beaver Island conversation and discussion.

Moderator: Gillespie

JustinP

new to the forum and help/advice wanted

Post by JustinP »

Hello all!

I'm so glad I finally joined the forums! My name is Justin Perry, and I spent last summer on the island working for @ the Shamrock.

While living on the island, I fell in love with your local history. I am an underwater archaeology student at Northwest Michigan College in Traverse City. While I'm on the island this summer, my professor and I would love to survey some of the local sites/shipwrecks using modern, noninvasive laser technology to digitally survey the sites. These methods require no digging, and do not harm the artifacts or sites in any way. This information would then be made available to the island's historical society for them to use in upcoming projects.

Now, I do have several sites that I want to survey, but since I want to do this to help the local history, what are some sites that you would like to see surveyed?

I will be on the island for St. Patty's weekend, and I would love to sit down with anyone who would be intersted in discussing the local history and give me some insight into sites they would like to see studied. I would also be especially interested to sit down with anyone from the local tribe and the historical society, so we can discuss possible ideas/handle any questions or concerns.

If anyone has any questions, statements, rants (lol) feel free to either post here or drop me an email/pm and I will respond promptly.